Lorelei Harr, CFNN Reporter

People love Marvel movies, and with good reason. The number of movies brings a complex and rewarding plotline for fans, both young and old. Because of this, many people may decide they want to watch all of the movies in order.

While many fans have already watched in order of release, they may not know that there’s another popular way to watch. Watching in chronological order can show fans how the real timeline plays out, giving more insight into certain storylines (specifically with Nick Fury, and his development with SHIELD). 

When movies are watched chronologically, the order, for the most part, stays the same. One movie that defies this rule is Captain Marvel. Released in 2019, this movie would be the second to last installment of the Marvel Cinematic Universe series. 

However, as the events of this movie take place in 1995, it is second on the list when watching in chronological order. By watching Captain Marvel so early, viewers get to see how the effects of that movie carry on into the 21st century of superheroes. 

By watching the movies in chronological order, viewers get to experience the movies as if they were one of the characters themselves in the Marvel Universe. Starting with Captain America in 1941, you’ll follow the lives of the heroes all the way through 2022.

Once you’ve set aside about 50 hours to watch every movie, you’ll need to know how to stream every movie. While most of these films are available on Disney plus, some require streaming from different services. 

Here is a complete list of all Marvel Cinematic Universe movies in chronological order, as well as where you can find them:

  1. Captain America: The First Avenger (available on Disney plus)
  2. Captain Marvel (available on Disney plus)
  3. Iron Man (available on Disney plus)
  4. Iron Man 2 (available on Disney plus)
  5. The Incredible Hulk (available on YouTube, iTunes, and Amazon Prime Video for $3.99)
  6. Thor (available on Disney plus)
  7. The Avengers (available on Disney plus)
  8. Iron Man 3 (available on Disney plus)
  9. Thor: The Dark World (available on Disney plus)
  10. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (available on Disney plus)
  11. Guardians of the Galaxy (available on Disney plus)
  12. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (available on Disney plus)
  13. Avengers: Age of Ultron (available on Disney plus)
  14. Ant-Man (available on Disney plus)
  15. Captain America: Civil War (available on Disney plus)
  16. Spider-Man: Homecoming (available on YouTube for $2.99)
  17. Doctor Strange (available on Hulu and Disney plus)
  18. Black Panther (available on Hulu and Disney plus)
  19. Thor: Ragnarok (available on Disney plus)
  20. Avengers: Infinity War (available on Disney plus)
  21. Ant-Man and The Wasp (available on Disney plus)
  22. Avengers: Endgame (available on Disney plus)

So, with a spare 50 hours (2 days and 2 hours), a Disney plus subscription, and a comfortable spot to live in front of the TV for a few weeks, you’re all set to begin your watching journey!